Under the provisions of Chapter 40 Section 4E of the General Laws of Massachusetts, the school districts of Acton-Boxborough Regional, Bedford, Carlisle, Concord, Concord-Carlisle Regional, Harvard, Lincoln, Lincoln-Sudbury Regional, Littleton, Maynard and Sudbury voluntarily joined together to form the Concord Area Special Education (CASE) Collaborative.  CASE was formed in 1974 to meet regional needs of member school districts.  The main, although not exclusive, focus of CASE Collaborative is special education.  The enactment of special education laws mandated that school districts provide appropriate educational services for all students with disabilities.
CASE is a vehicle that allows school districts to plan, develop and implement programs for these students.  It affords school districts the opportunity to augment local services and provide a continuum of special education programs through collaboration with other school districts.  It provides a mechanism for people to share ideas and resources for the purpose of meeting a common need.
All personnel involved in developing programs for students in CASE districts are part of the CASE Community.  This community is built upon the belief that collectively the participating school districts and community groups have a great deal of expertise that can and should be utilized to enhance educational opportunities for students.  CASE Collaborative provides a means to identify this expertise and share it on a regional level.